How Curious are you? Da Vinci Technique

stick-figure-question-marks

All of us enter into this world curious. Curiosity builds the natural impulse and it is the same impulse brought you here to this article too.

Great minds ask great questions. The questions you ask influence your quality of life.

One activity I am continuously involved in my life from the time I acquired language is questioning. I was very curious to know everything around me, including me. I have been scolded many a times by my school teachers, adults and family members not to ask crazy questions (I think they were struggling to answer my questions)

Why, What, How, When are the most prominent questions.

One statement which I had imbibed as a way of living is, “It is not the questions that you ask, but also the questions you fail to ask also determines your life”.

Today in all my workshops, I encourage people to ask lots of questions.

Before I share with a technique to enhance your curiosity quotient, tell me Are you curious? How do you know you are curious?

Complete the self-assessment checklist below; your answers will tell you how you are already using it—and where there is room for improvement. Then try your hand at cultivating your own Curiosity through the simple exercises that follow.

  • I keep a journal or notebook to record my insights and questions.
  • I take adequate time for contemplation and reflection.
  • I am always learning something new.
  • When I am faced with an important decision, I actively seek out different perspectives.
  • I am a voracious reader.
  • I learn from little children.
  • I am skilled at identifying and solving problems.
  • My friends would describe me as open-minded and curious.
  • When I hear or read a new word or phrase, I look it up and make a note of it.
  • I know a lot about other cultures and am always learning more.
  • I know or am involved in learning a language other than my native one.
  • I solicit feedback from my friends, relations, and colleagues.
  • I love learning

Based on the above checklist, how would you rate yourself on your curiosity quotient on a scale of 1 – 10 (1 being poor and 10 being excellent). There is nothing called right or wrong. This is how you feel now.

Now, let me share with you a very simple exercise to boost up your curiosity. This technique was first shared by Leonardo Da Vinci.

100 Question Technique: 

Find yourself a quiet place where you can relax with your journal for a good 45-60 minutes of uninterrupted Know Thyself time. Take a notebook & in your notebook, make a list of a hundred questions that are important to you. Your list  can include any kind of question as long as it’s something you deem significant: anything from “How can I save more money?” or “How can I have more fun?” to “What is the meaning and purpose of my existence?” and “How can I best serve the Creator?” Do the entire list in one sitting. Write quickly; don’t worry about spelling, grammar, or repeating the same question in different words (recurring questions will alert you to emerging themes).

Why a hundred questions? The first twenty or so will be “off the top of your head.” In the next thirty or forty themes often begin to emerge. And, in the latter part of the second half of the list you are likely to discover unexpected but profound material. When you have finished, read through your list and highlight the themes that emerge. Consider the emerging themes without judging them. Are most of your questions about relationships? Business? Fun? Money? The meaning of life?

Top Ten Questions 

Review your list of a hundred questions. Choose the ten that seem most significant. Then rank them in importance from one to ten. (Of course, you can add new questions or change the order at any time.) Do not attempt to answer them right now; you’ve done enough just putting them in writing in a place where you can easily find them.

The following questions are drawn from different people’s “top ten.” These questions are powerful catalysts to personal growth and fulfillment. Copy them in your notebook for contemplation:

  1. When am I most naturally myself? What people, places, and activities allow me to feel most fully myself?
  2. What is one thing I could stop doing, or start doing, or do differently, starting today that would most improve the quality of my life?
  3. What is my greatest talent?
  4. How can I get paid for doing what I love?
  5. Who are my most inspiring role models?
  6. How can I best be of service to others?
  7. What is my heart’s deepest desire?
  8. How am I perceived by: my closest friend, my worst enemy, my boss, my children, my coworkers, etc.?
  9. What are the blessings of my life?
  10. 10.What legacy would I like to leave?

POWER QUESTIONS

I have created my own list of power questions. Ponder/ journal on these if you feel so inspired:

1. How can you use your strengths in greatest service to yourself, your family, your community and the world?

2. How can you get paid to do what you love?

3. What 5 things are you most proud of ? What 5 things will you be most proud of ?

4. If you had all the time and all the money in the world, what would you do?

5. What’s your ideal day look like? When do you get up? What do you do? With whom? For whom? Imagine it in vivid detail!

6. Who are your heroes/mentors/role models? Why? How are you like them?

7. What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

8. If you were guaranteed to succeed, what’s the #1 thing you would do? What else?

9. What is it that you and only you can do for the world?

10. How can you live in more integrity with your ideals? What’s the #1 thing you could start doing that would have the most positive impact in your life? What’s the #1 thing you could *stop* doing that would have the most positive impact in your life?!

You can increase your problem-solving skills, at work and at home, by honing your question-asking ability. For most people this requires shifting the initial emphasis away from focusing on “the right answer” and toward asking “Is this the right question?”

Did you like this article? If so, give your valuable comments & feedback.

One thought on “How Curious are you? Da Vinci Technique

Leave a Reply

